Theatre Academy


In conformity with Seagull’s holistic and professional approach to theatre, training for actors has been considered to be an indispensable requirement. Only a trained actor can have an in depth understanding and appreciation of the varied aspects of theatre. Consequently under the guidance of Bhagirathi, the Seagull Theatre Academy was established in 1995 as a part of the National School of Drama’s Extension Programme. A full-fledged course was conducted till 1999, whereby an average of twenty students were imparted comprehensive training in dramatics every year. Thereafter with the closure of NSD’s project, Seagull has been conducting the training programme on its own initiative.

Bhagirathi and Baharul Islam conducted the regular classes for the course. Moreover to encourage the students and enrich their learning-experience, a number of eminent personalities like Late B.V. Karanth, Late H.Kanhailal, Rita G. Kothari, Satyabrata Rawat, Ashish Vidyarthi, Siddhartha Chakravarty, Ramachandra Sahu, Jyoti Narayan Nath, Karuna Deka etc. have visited the Academy as Guest-lecturers.

More than a Hundred and Fifty students, hailing from different corners of the state, have passed out from the Academy so far. Some of them have started their own theatre-troupes in their hometowns, some have gone for further training to National School of Drama, and some have become actively involved in commercial theatre or the media.

Productions of Academy students:

  • Saraighat (1996)

Script; Karuna Deka

Direction: Baharul Islam

  • Mrichchakatikam (1997)

Script: Shudrak

Director: Bhagirathi

  • Tughlaq (1997)

Script: Girish Karnad

Direction: Bhagirathi

  • Uzir Mangla (1999)

(Puntila and his man Matti)

Script: Bertold Breckht

Direction: Bhagirathi and Baharul Islam

  • Ganashatru (2001)

(An enemy of the people)

Script:  Ibsen

Direction: Mrinal Kumar Bora
  • Kashmir Kumari (2002)
Script: Ganesh Gogoi

Direction: Baharul Islam
  • Kio (2002)

Script: Phani Sharma

Direction: Amitav Kalita

  • Aharar Edin (2003)

Script: Mohan Rakesh

Direction: Bhagirathi

  • Macbeth (2004)

Script: Shakespeare

Direction: Bhagirathi

  • Merchant of Venice (2005)

Script: Shakespeare

Direction: Bhagirathi

  • Aharar Edin (2006)

Script: Mahon Rakesh

Direction: Bhagirathi

  • Holi (2006)

Script: Mahesh Elkuswar

Direction: Nirmali Buragohain

  • Rupalim

Play: Jyoti Prasad Agarwala

Director Prabin Saikia

  • Kio

Play: Phani Sarma

Director: Amitav Kalita

  • Tughlak

Play: Girish Karnad

Director: Mrinal Kumar Bora

  • Julius Caesar

Play: Shakespeare

Director: Bhagirathi

  • Court Marshal

Play: Swadesh Deepak

Director: Bhagirathi

Besides these major play productions, the students have also presented a number of short play productions, based on short stories, themes in poems, paintings and even their own script. Through this effort, students are encouraged to explore and build on their own innovations.